gfx gfx
gfx gfx
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
gfx gfx
gfx gfx

  • Welcome at our new home!!!

    This is the Snej Portal, home of several D2 Modifications and D2SE
  • On our Realmserver you can find this hosted Mods:

    Snej
    Reign of Shadows (RoS)
    Eastern Sun (ES)
  • You can also find the home of the

    Aftermath Mod here

    https://snej.org/forum/index.php?board=674.0
gfx gfx
gfx
December 07, 2021, 01:07:36 PM
*
gfx gfx
gfx* Home Help Search Login Registergfx

Author Topic: D2SE Isn't working  (Read 147 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mpowermeTopic starter

  • Little Pickpocket
  • *
  • Posts: 7
D2SE Isn't working
« on: November 18, 2021, 10:29:16 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I installed a clean copy of D2 LOD today and then installed the D2SE mod manager in the same directory.  Then I installed SNEJ into the Mod folder, under its own folder of course.  Then when I go to run the game it says

This application has encountered a critical error:
The file data is corrupt
Program: G\Games\Diablo II D2SE\D2SE.exe
File:        G\Games\Diablo II D2SE\d2data.mpq


So after that I also tried to run the video test and I get this error.


Could not locate G:\Games\Diablo II
D2SE\MODS\Snej60\D2SE_SETUP.ini for execution

Did you use the installer correctly?
Is the .ini setup correctly?



So I have never had to set up an .ini file to make this game work before, what am I doing wrong?   Any help would be greatly appriciated

Offline bolli

  • Netherworld
  • The Summoner
  • *****
  • Posts: 271
  • Gender: Male
Re: D2SE Isn't working
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2021, 09:01:08 AM »
Hello,

you might have installed the current version of d2lod which is not working with d2se.

before you install d2se you have to downgrade to 1.13


Offline ChaosMarc

  • Global Moderator
  • Boneash
  • *****
  • Posts: 72
  • Gender: Male
Re: D2SE Isn't working
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2021, 10:21:57 AM »
Thats not entirely true. D2SE runs fine on an underlying 1.14 installation. The Problem is that you used the latest 1.14 installer from blizzard. This one comes with slightly modified MPQ files that don't work with older patches. There are two ways to fix it:
- use one of the many MPQ fixes out there once. After this D2SE will run flawlessly regardless of the underlying patch. One can be obtained included in my version changer over here: https://github.com/ChaosMarc/D2VersionChanger
- uninstall and reinstall with the old 1.12 installer. Those can be found here: https://mega.nz/#F!VIth1DKQ!Q42bVsCGQZ4UhoGjqvHxGw

Offline bolli

  • Netherworld
  • The Summoner
  • *****
  • Posts: 271
  • Gender: Male
Re: D2SE Isn't working
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2021, 11:31:44 AM »
Thats interesting. So could the 1.14 version with slightly different mpqs work safely on bnet?
Because i see no other reason to install 1.14 at all with d2se.

Offline ChaosMarc

  • Global Moderator
  • Boneash
  • *****
  • Posts: 72
  • Gender: Male
Re: D2SE Isn't working
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2021, 08:54:58 AM »
yes the modified mpqs work fine on closed bnet. The fix changes nothing game related but only something with the let's say structure or version of the files themselves. technical the (attributes) file gets deleted, because older versions of diablo can't read mpqs with the file present, and newer versions don't need it. The mpqs were just created with a newer version of an mpq editor that adds this file automatically

Offline bolli

  • Netherworld
  • The Summoner
  • *****
  • Posts: 271
  • Gender: Male
Re: D2SE Isn't working
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2021, 07:37:08 PM »
Cool Thing. Thx for reply.

If i ever come back from playing d2r i'll have this in mind. ;-)

Snejportal  |  D2SE  |  D2SE Modmanager  |  Topic: D2SE Isn't working
 

gfxgfx
gfx
SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines  Snejtheme V2 by Seltsamuel/Faust (based on Helios Multi by Bloc)
gfx